Skip to product information
1 of 3

Com certificado de autenticidade e garantia

Score autographed by Heitor Villa-Lobos

Score autographed by Heitor Villa-Lobos

Regular price R$ 0,00 BRL
Regular price Sale price R$ 0,00 BRL
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

> This item is out of the catalogue, see available documents here <

Score of an important composition written in 1930, signed by the Brazilian conductor and composer Heitor Villa-Lobos.

Score signed by Heitor Villa-Lobos: Bachianas Brasileiras n°4 for solo piano, part IV (Dansa), written in 1941. 9 pages in total. In Portuguese. 23 cm x 30.5 cm. Location unknown, no date. Good condition, suffered a little moisture. Single piece.

Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887 - 1959) is considered, by both amateurs and specialists, to be the greatest Brazilian conductor and composer. In 1915, Villa-Lobos started to work as an instrumentalist and, at the age of 19, wrote his first compositions. He traveled a lot around the world, especially in France and the United States, directing his own compositions and winning the admiration of the public, including Debussy and Stravinski. In Brazil, he did detailed research on Brazilian folklore, which inspired most of his compositions.

Bachianas Brasileiras n°4 was written in 1930 for solo piano and premiered in 1939 with Vieira Brandão. Later, in 1941, this new version would be arranged for orchestra and premiered in 1942, conducted by the author himself. Pianist Arthur Moreira Lima highlights “the grandeur of the 'Prelude (Introduction)', the rich timbres of the 'Coral (Canto do Sertão)', the nostalgia of the 'Aria (Cantiga)', interrupted by a syncopated rhythm typical of the Northeast, and the technical complexity of 'Dança (Miudinho)'” .

This item belonged to the granddaughter of Joseph Liass, a famous pianist from São Paulo who studied in Germany with Krause, the last student of Franz Liszt; lived with great musicians and intellectuals of the time and created a collection.

Heitor Villa-Lobos is one of the Brazilian personalities increasingly sought after by music-loving collectors. Unfortunately, autograph documents by the composer are rarely available to this audience.

View full details

Contact Form